Models & Christie Brinkley

I posted this as my facebook status yesterday and I really would like to talk about it a little more and share it with those of you who are not my friends on facebook. Read the article of which I am referring to here.

“I read the NYTimes online and there was an article about Christie Brinkley posted a couple of days ago regarding her and a few things about where she’s been or stuff she owns. People are commenting on the article about how dumb she is or how fortunate she was to be born beautiful so she can have the life everyone else dreams of. I see these kinds of comments about other models and celebrities a lot. I find it disappointing. A) Some people just find themselves in the right place at the right time and are able to make money B) it doesn’t matter if you are pretty by the world’s standards or not- you can still do something with your life C) why don’t you just be happy with what you have..you can strive for more but in the end material things don’t matter. I live in a small apartment with my 3 year old roommate who doesn’t pay rent and I have never been more happy in my life. Doesn’t mean it isn’t difficult everyday of my life- I am one person but I work 14 hours a day most days.. How many hours and rough days do you think Christie Brinkley put in? I am betting a lot. Quit analyzing others’ lives and judging from the outside. It’s not a good look for Fall 2012.”

Bare with me, I have a lot of random thoughts I want to express. Firstly, the comment that says “a life we all dream of having” is such a stupid statement. There were like a ton of people who even “liked” this comment. I was thinking – so you dream of having CB’s life… do you even know what it really entails? Do you want to read about all of her hardships just so you can feel better about yourself? Most of these articles are not to make you feel bad but to inspire you. I’m sure it would be good every once in awhile to read about a “star” in the light that they are a human just like you and I. But that’s what People magazine is for. Ha.

Also, are these people aware how difficult it is to be in the public eye and to be a model? I’m not sure they’ve THOUGHT about this concept. It is a job. I don’t think CB was like Oh yay I’m going to get to wear a bikini in Alaska for 2 hours – I just can’t wait! This is just like a lawyer working several hours a day or a doctor. But you’re right, we don’t see doctors in the New York Times….why? Do you want to read about a doctor in the New York Times? CB life is also for our entertainment, thus the article was for our entertainment. If it was for our knowledge, it’d probably be an autobiography.

Next… I realize that we all want to travel the world and own expensive things. But have you ever thought that maybe some of the celebrities sit at home (when they aren’t instagraming pictures of their fancy dinners) and think to themselves – I’m bored with this. Argue with me all you want, but I guarantee you they get tired of their lifestyle. Why do you think Britney shaved her head?

Maybe that paragraph didn’t come out right -but in essence, it is not about the dollar amount because if all of that stuff burned, what would you have left? The things that matter the most – relationships and your personality. If you don’t have good relationships or personality, then maybe you should spend your money and act like a baller.

Just be happy – the more you whine about what you don’t have, then the more upset you will get. If you had NO idea what the person next to you was getting to do, then you wouldn’t have anything to be upset about.

And if you don’t like something about your life… change it! Get off your facebook and do something better. There are tons of shelters and organizations that would need your help. People who have fallen on rough times and need help.

I bet you didn’t know that at one point in my life I had fallen on difficult times and relied on sleeping on my friends’ couches and having a closet in my trunk (which is still super useful). And maybe, just maybe, the people that you lust for their lives – all the work they’ve put in.. maybe they deserve it. Maybe they’ve worked endless hours and been through so much that this is their piece of pie. Some of them choose to (sorry) piss it away and others we never hear about.

And just because I’m feeling … who knows what.. But I found these pictures here and so this is in regards to the person’s comment about CB being born beautiful. Here are before and after pics of models.

The moral of my story is – YOU can be beautiful … just change your attitude.

 

3 thoughts on “Models & Christie Brinkley

  1. I heart ALL OF THIS. I totally agree that material things won’t bring you happiness. It’s all fire wood. You don’t take it with you leave this world. You’ll probably cry when I say this, but I have NEVER cared about big brand names. I want to buy the opposite of brand names. You don’t need a big name to be important or feel happy.

    George Carlin said, “Trying to be happy by accumulating possessions is like trying to satisfy hunger by taping sandwiches all over your body.”

    Surround yourselves with people who love and respect you for who you are. People who won’t use you to make themselves feel better about their own insecurities. Once you find them, put their needs and wants before your own. They’ll be doing the same. Respect everyone and treat them they way want to be treated. It sounds like a no brainer, but this world seems to have a love problem. Great post.

  2. Thank you, that last paragraph was so well said! Maybe I am just content and able to be happy and empathetic towards others but Christie Brinkley has always been very inspirational to me. She strikes me as being extremely intelligent (look at her amazing and ongoing career) and passionate about causes that affect us all by not just talking the talk but walking it too. If her biggest flaw is trusting a few unworthy apples, well, what a kindhearted soul she is and how could anyone blame her for the mistreatment by others? I have never understood that angle, shame on anyone who would try to take advantage of another’s love and trust. Those who so willingly attack others only reveal their own insecurities and unhappiness as you so articulately pointed out and for them I feel very sorry.

Leave a Reply

