Interview Series | John Eric Booth

 

Today starts the interview series that I am doing, where I interview artists of all types from around the country. I will start it with one of my favorite vocalists, John Eric Booth. I stole part of his bio from his website:

Meet John Eric Booth. Singer, entertainer, radio personality, producer, writer, dad and lover of life.With a recent acclaimed headlining performance off Broadway in New York City at the Laurie Beechman Theater, and during the same jaunt a surprise performance for a standing room only crowd at the legendary New York Friars’ Club which drew anxious listeners in from neighboring rooms… it is CLEAR that John Eric Booth is reaching the world with a vibe of pure joy for the Great American Songbook.And then even MORE recently, an intimate yet swinging performance in Hollywood, California at the historic venue The Mint with renowned bandleader Pat Longo, which later in the week included a heartfelt public endorsement for the new “Prince of Cool” by legendary Latin jazz drummer and percussionist Pete Escovedo during Pete’s show at the famed Hollywood & Highland venue with Booth in the front row and Escovedo asking him to stand and meet the 1500+ fans in attendance.”I want to bring the party back to the genre. If there is ever a time to inject a lighthearted vibe into life and society… that time is now. We take ourselves much too seriously. Let’s face it… this music is TOTAL COOL. It puts a smile on your face and warms your soul, and I am glad to be of service (grinning). THIS is what I do. This infectious swinging sound is with me all day long. It’s not just what I do onstage… it’s a LIFESTYLE. I live it, breathe it, love it.”

JEB and I have been friends for a couple of years now. He’s very talented in music and other areas as well, such as computers. He’s the brains behind www.khenri.com. A hard-working and smart father, JEB is also in possession of some Khenri swag. I highly suggest that you visit his website for more information on him. There’s a little video clip in this article as well. His voice is not just a mix of Fergie and Jesus… it’s so much more!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MOI: 1. How did you get started singing? How young were you?

JEB: First time I really sang was a talent show, my senior year, in high school. I was disqualified because they thought I was lip syncing! I guess I was pretty good. 🙂
MOI: 2. What is your most memorable performance and why?
JEB: I was asked to sing for a fan at his funeral. YES. I performed “My Way” and “The Shadow Of Your Smile”. A family member walked up and tipped me after.
MOI: 3. Where do you draw your inspiration from?
JEB: The precision of Sinatra, the magnetism and humor of Dean Martin
MOI: 4. What do you like to do in your spare time? 
JEB: I love going on road trips. Cooking for a special lady. Seeing sights.
MOI: 5. What’s your favorite city to perform in? Who has the best crowds?
JEB: Hollywood is a lot of fun. These people love the whole vibe of this great music.
MOI: 6. Have you ever sang for a bar mitzvah? Just curious. 
JEB: Not yet
MOI: 7. Where can the public purchase your music?
JEB: MY website johnericbooth.com and also iTunes, CDbaby.com and Amazon.
MOI: 8. When you go to the grocery store, what do you normally purchase?
JEB: Veggies… fresh and frozen. Strawberries. Lemons. Chicken. I like kid cereal too.
MOI: 9. What’s the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you?
JEB: I was booked to entertain at a country club for a wedding reception. I arrived around 2pm to get set up… and as I crossed the crest of the hill and
saw the parking lot… it was full. They were standing around waiting on me! I got my times confused, and that never happened again.
MOI: 10. If you were a chick, what Khenris would you wear?

JEB: The Napalm 🙂

*If you are an artist and would like to be featured in my interview series, please contact me at keelia@khenri.com to see if you’ve made the cut!

Leave a Reply

